A Recipe For Crow: An Open Letter to the San Diego Chargers

Courtesy of isportsweb.com

Dear San Diego Chargers,

I’ve been eating crow for dinner for 11 consecutive Sundays.

It’s really tough and gamey and generally not very pleasant, even if you soak it in logic and coat it with common sense.

You see, I’ve been taking plenty of flack for the words I posted on October 21st, regarding your humiliating loss on Monday Night Football by the Denver Broncos.

Since that time, you have been victorious in 11 straight NFL contests.

Let’s qualify some things:

1. We’ve been going steady since 1984, when my lone criterion for selecting a favorite football team was civic pride and  how cool the helmet logo was (a lighting bolt was– and is– an impressive design feature for a knuckle-head such as my self).

I’ve seen the good times (the magical 1994 Super Bowl year) and the bad (the 1 and 15 season, the Ryan Leaf debacle) and my loyalty has never wavered.

Shaky fair-weather fan I am not.

2. A key component to any healthy long-term relationship is honesty.  The October 21st post of this humble blog is evidence to that notion.  My words, however unflattering, were honest.

3. Given the state of affairs in late October, my words were a true assessment of how the season was unfolding for you.  I don’t regret a single word I wrote.

If you can’t be honest with yourself– or your loved-ones– who can you be honest with, right?

You are now, through no credit of mine, well positioned to represent the AFC in the Super Bowl.

All because you believed in yourselves– and in each other.

You believed in hard work,  pre-game preparation and your style of winning football games.

You ignored the naysayers, the odds makers and conventional wisdom.

You ignored silly blogs like Bacon Makes It Better.

But I haven’t ignored what you’ve accomplished, San Diego Chargers.

And crow never tasted better.

Leave a comment

Filed under NFL, Sports

Leave a Reply

